The Experience of an Internship – Univision Communications Inc.

If you were to ask me, “What has been the best experience of your life so far?”, I wouldn’t hesitate in answering — my first student internship with Univision Communications Inc.

Cinthia Lozano - Univision Intern

Cinthia Lozano

Working in the promotions department at Univision has been such a great opportunity; it has given me a great amount of knowledge about the communications field. Some of the things I have learned include: how a television commercial is produced (participating in 2 as a performer), translation from English – Spanish and how to put promos into the system so that they can be transferred to master control which are then put on air. I also helped different colleagues in the promotions department with a variety of project, such as: Idolo del Pueblo and Calle Ocho, which has consistently been one of the biggest projects of the network.

Aside from learning a whole lot, it has also helped me find a niche in the industry, a path I would like to pursue in the communications industry when I graduate. Many of us students are confused about what sector of public relations would suit best for oneself. My best recommendation is to intern in as many different areas possible, to gain a better understanding and a realization of what you really want for yourself. After all, these are the kinds of opportunities that are going to guide us and show us the way to a promising future.

Cinthia Lozano cloza003@fiu.edu

Twitter: @Cinthiaay

Leave a comment